Safe Haven

260 Newborns (255 in Florida, 4 in other states and one precious one in the country of Honduras) have now been saved from the dangers of abandonment. Thank you.

IMG_2655WHAT IS SAFE HAVEN FOR NEWBORNS?
Florida’s Safe Baby Law allows mothers and/or fathers, or whoever is in possession of an unharmed newborn approximately 7 days old or less, to leave them in the “arms” of an employee at any Hospital or staffed 24/7 Fire Rescue Station, or Emergency Medical Station. No questions asked, totally anonymous, free from fear of prosecution.

What are the rules under the Safe Haven law?

  • The infant must be approximately seven days old or younger
  • The infant cannot have been abused or neglected
  • The infant must be left at a “Safe Haven” location
  • The infant must be left in the hands of staff at a “Safe Haven” location

safehaven274x247Where can I find a Safe Haven location?
Many hospitals (staffed 24/7), fire stations and ambulance stations will have a sign that identifies their building as a Safe Haven location. Please make sure you tell them that you are leaving your infant in a “Safe Haven”.
<—This is what a Safe Haven location identification sign looks like.

What if I want more information on Safe Haven for Newborns?
The Healthy Start Coalition of Hardee, Highlands & Polk Counties, Inc. can provide you with written “Safe Haven for Newborns” materials to help you make a safe and educated decision for your baby. You may also click here to visit the Safe Haven for Newborns website or call the 24-hour helpline at 1-877-767-BABY x 2229. The helpline is confidential and toll-free and assistance is available in English, Spanish, and Creole.

Safe Haven Fact Sheet
Safe Haven Flyer with tear-offs
Safe Haven Pregnancy Quick Guide
Safe Haven Resource Guide